Edification: Building a Community of Christ

Edification: Building a Community of Christ

Reflecting on the Importance of "Teaching" and "Relationships"

At the Opening Convocation ceremony of this new school year, I invited teachers and students to take on a new challenge. In the past six years, our focus has been on Preaching, Mission, Pastoral Studies, and the like. This school year, we would like to push ourselves to think about and explore more about church education.

Early this August, the faculty team enjoyed three days of congenial fellowship during the Faculty Retreat which had the following theme: "Enjoy Theology." As part of this, the first day focused on the theme of "Enjoying Teaching" which was conducted by Dr. Jonathan Lo. In one of the sessions, Dr. Lo mentioned Professor Gordon Fee, a well-respected teacher at Regent College, who taught him not only biblical knowledge, which enabled him to know his Christian faith more clearly, but he also taught him how to take teaching seriously and value interpersonal relationships. Dr. Lo also mentioned another memorable teacher, Professor Larry Hurtado from The University of Edinburgh, who was his PhD thesis advisor and mentor. When Dr. Lo struggled with his faith, this teacher prayed for him and offered advice. Prof. Hurtado carries a cross on a necklace with him every day; he takes it off at night and picks it up again the next morning to remind himself that he takes up the cross of Christ every day. His erudition, cultivation, godliness, and spirituality have deeply affected Dr. Lo.

The theme for the second day was "Enjoy Research Writing" which was conducted by Dr. Andres Tang. Having known Dr. Tang for more than ten years, I presumed that he would teach in his usual lecturing format. So, I accordingly brought with me a laptop to take notes. To everyone's surprise, Dr. Tang actually used the format of a game to discuss and share with us! His teaching method was a brand new experience for us all!

What also impressed me deeply was the Spiritual Formation Camp held from August 18 through 20. In the afternoon of August 19, Dr. Roy Chan led a demonstration which was called the "Integration of a Life of Consecration: A Demonstration of Life Coaching." A graduating student was willing to be part of the process and answer questions from Dr. Chan who acted as her mentor.

The first question was this: as a senior student, what would she regard as the most important thing she could tell a first year student? The second question was: what was the most difficult part of studying theology? The third question had two parts: what were three things that she would do differently? Among these three things, which one did she mostwant to change? To the very last question, she replied, "Interpersonal relationships."

These are just some snapshots of what was happening three weeks prior to the beginning of the new school term and the experiences we had serve as food for thought for us all. A year ago, I started to ponder the seminary's direction for the new school year. My intuition was that it was necessary for the seminary to have an in- depth discussion and conduct research and writing about the seminary itself and in particular, in the area of church education. I earnestly hope that our teachers can be more sophisticated in their teaching and that the church can be more focused on the education of all age groups, especially teens. What a great surprise to find that during the Faculty Retreat there was a convergence of our thoughts and feelings about teaching. Incidentally, in one of the sessions during the Spiritual Formation Camp, our students also mentioned that relationships are especially crucialwhile studying at the seminary.

I cannot help praising God's wondrous leading as we think with one heart about the importance of "edification" and "relationships" in the new school year.

Edification Is to Build up the Body of Christ in God's Love

What is edification? Edification comes from oikos and domeo in Greek. The former means "house" or "residence" and the latter means to "build up." Richard Osmer points out that edification most simply means "to build up the community of Christ as the residence of God's Spirit." The type of edification ministry helps brothers and sisters exercise their spiritual gifts and grow through service. The mission of edification enables brothers and sisters to recognize, receive, and exercise their gifts and to recognize that "love" is essential and that edification ministry must act under the guidance of love.

Osmer interprets two passages from 1 Corinthians, pointing out one important implication of edification ministry: edification is to build up the body of Christ in love. Osmer explains that Paul was dealing with a community troubled by strife as the lay people pledged their allegiances to different leaders (1 Cor 3:4). When facing this problem within the church, Paul taught them to build up the body of Christ in love.

In the third chapter of 1 Corinthians, Paul portrays three images. Paul first uses the image of the field to show the "planting" and "watering" of life (1 Cor. 6-8). He says, "So then neither the one who plants nor the one who waters is anything, but God who causes the growth." (3:7) He points out that both planting and watering are one part of the work, his planting and Apollo's watering act in concert with each other to bring about life. For both are God's workers (synergoi) and fellow laborers in Christ, who belong to God and work with one heart under God (3:9a). They need to count on, cooperate with, and be of the same heart and work together as coworkers. Both to be interdependent and cooperative are the symbols of the community of Christ.

Then Paul uses the image of a house to reaffirm the point mentioned above, regarding the church as the house of God (3:9). First, a house must have a foundation and Jesus Christ is the foundation (3:11). This shows that the steward of the church should take it seriously to build the house on the foundation of Christ (3:10); if the church does not build on the foundation of Christ, it is not a church (3:11). For without Christ, a church is just an association. Second, different parts of the house must be interdependent— mutually connecting and supporting in order to be sound. This metaphor rules out the possibility of any individualism in the church and no tolerance of anyone acting independently on their own.

Paul goes on to talk about the builder of the house in 3:10-15. He regards himself as being analogous to an expert builder within the community of Christ who has laid a foundation while others have to be careful to build houses on this foundation (3:10). A builder can use different building materials like, wood, hay, straw, or gold, silver, and costly stones. A builder's work will be tested and the flame of judgment will decide in the end. Only when the materials are sturdy and it has been built on the foundation of Christ can it stand the test of the flame of judgment. Therefore, Paul gives these warnings: "each one should be careful how he builds" (3:10); "if the work is burned up, he will suffer loss" (3:15).

The third image is of God's temple; only the Spirit of God can make the church holy, so that it can be a temple of God (3:17). This image underscores the metaphor of the "body" that chapter 12 talks about. While the role of the temple of God is God's residence, Paul points out that the church is the temple of God which has an amazing view, meaning that the community of Christ supersedes the temple of Jerusalem. "For God's temple is sacred, and you are that temple" (3:17b). "Don't you know that you yourselves are God's temple and that God's Spirit lives in you?" (3:16) Paul means to say this: whether the church is God's temple, whether it is holy, relies on whether the Spirit of God lives in the people of God. If anyone brings harm to the church, he is to confront the Holy Spirit; if anyone tarnishes the holiness of the church, he is trying to demolish God's temple. Any divisive hostility or boastful flattery will constitutethe sin of destroying God's temple. Therefore, this kind of hostility or flattery is not only a sin against a personal relationship, it is also a sin that offends God.

Cultivating a Relationship with God and Humankindthrough the Love of Christ

On this basis, Paul expounds on the usage of the gifts of the Spirit in love in 1 Corinthians 12-14. In chapters 3, and 12 to 14, Paul emphasizes the Holy Spirit and points out that the Holy Spirit lives within the community of Christ. In fact, the primary action of the Holy Spirit is to build up the community of Christ; the Holy Spirit distributes different gifts to members of the church (12:4-11) with a view to benefitting the whole community of Christ. In chapter 13, Paul points out that love is the basis of all spiritual gifts. "Love is patient, love is kind." (13:4a) This is just like God's love which is eternal, patient, and full of loving kindness. A sign of love is unity in spite of diversity which is also the antidote to factionalism and pride.

That this kind of love is spiritual in nature implies that love is the work of the Holy Spirit: our whole life—our whole being—is transformed by the work of the Holy Spirit which enables us to act through love. We are called by the Holy Spirit to act. Our actions and the power of the Holy Spirit become united. This union cannot be taken on alone. The kind of strength which cannot act through love must be renewed through the power of the Holy Spirit so that a new being with a new mode of life can be formed within ourselves. When the former way of life is discarded, we can begin to grow in our new life which is marked by love.

Therefore, the teachings conducted at the church should not only pay attention to knowledge of the Bible, theology, and church history but also attach importance to the cultivation of relationships, helping brothers and sisters to love God and each other more. This implies that teachers' teachings not only transmit knowledge and beliefs, but also helps brothers and sisters recognize, receive, and exercise their spiritual gifts while assisting them as they cultivate their relationships with God and with each other through the love of Christ. This love from God can build up brothers and sisters who highly regard their own relationship with God and with each other.

According to the teachings in the Bible, the relationship between humankind and God must be closely related to interpersonal relationships. We cannot be Christians on our own; other Christians have gifts that we do not have. Other Christians can help us know more about God and see how poorly we understand God; other Christians can help us see the deficiencies and limitations of our own lives and challenge us as we grow together. In other words, if we long to build a more intimate relationship with God, we need the assistance and support of other Christians who will let us enter into their lives and wisdom. If not, then teaching is liable to simply be made of icy beliefs or simple adherence to moral codes, making our faith dogmatic and/or moralistic.

Act as God's Coworker and Build a Community of Christ

Therefore, within the teaching ministry of churches, an important vocation of teachers is to encourage brothers and sisters to share not only erudition but also their personal lives and struggles during the lessons in order to deepen their relationship with God and among themselves so as to build up a community of Christ. A teacher will have a lot to reflect on: if students cannot deepen their relationships with God and each other, where else can they seek help? Are there other aspects of church life where there are the opportunities for spiritual growth? However, if they are not willing to share and exchange amongst themselves, then this indicates that their relationship with God has not grown. In this regard, a teacher needs to teach students to exchange and share their erudition and personal lives. In this way, each person not only receives knowledge but is also pleased to share their own gifts, wisdom, and lives within the community.

To teach brothers and sisters to have fellowship and share, a teacher must exercise their teaching skills to promote this kind of sharing. One of the skills that promote sharing is discussion. Through discussion, a student changes from a passive receiver into an active contributor within the learning community. In this kind of dialogue, members can share their thoughts and lives and listen to the thoughts and lives of others. Genuine sharing can help to enhance the relationship between God and humankind.

Hence, a teacher will have to learn how to lead group discussions. This implies that he or she must ask good questions, follow through with them, and use them to make a point. However, a teacher also needs to understand that they cannot do it alone or force a good discussion to happen. To create a good discussion, the teacher needs to rely on the guidance of the Holy Spirit which will help brothers and sisters enter into sharing that enables them to become a community of Christ. In this way, the mission of a teacher is not to control the work of the Holy Spirit but to be a vessel of the Holy Spirit and let God decide the time and place He wants to create a community of Christ. A teacher's mission is to do his or her best with respect to teaching, serving within their limitations, and being coworkers with God to build a community of Christ so that a relationship can be built ―leading to thebuilding a community of Christ.

In the new school year, I sincerely hope that our faculty team can utilize this concept and practice as outlined above to further our quest for excellence in teaching, not only by imparting knowledge but also by teaching students to build a community of Christ together under the Holy Spirit so that this community can be the residence of the Spirit of God. In other words, a teacher not only teaches knowledge, but teaches about relationships: how to build a relationship with God and amongst ourselves. As such, we can have better discussions, exchange more erudition, and more from our personal lives, allowing us to discuss God more and share God's gifts and grace in the classroom, canteen, prayer meeting, or even while waiting the bus or walking to the MTR together.

Similarly, our students must learn to think of preaching not just as ministering in church, but also as teaching not only knowledge, but also relationships—building relationships between us and God as well as interpersonal relationships. I earnestly hope that our students' teachings strive for excellence, not only teaching knowledge but also teaching brothers and sisters to build a community of Christ together under the Holy Spirit so that this community can be the residence of the Spirit of God.

Nov 2015

Related Posts

教导:建立基督的群体

教导:建立基督的群体

思考「教导」和「关系」的重要性

在新学年的开学礼上,我邀请师生一起投入新的学习课题。过去六年,我们的学习重点包括宣讲、宣教、教牧学等。在今学年,我们将在教会教育的领域有更多思考和探索。

今年8月初,老师团队在「教授退修会」有三天甜蜜的相交。退修会的主题是「享受神学」。第一天的分题是「享受教学」,由卢允晞老师带领。在其中一个环节,卢老师提到他所敬重的费依教授(Prof. Gordon Fee)。卢老师昔日在维真神学院(Regent College)学习时,费依教授不单教他圣经知识,帮助他认清信仰,也教他如何认真地教学和重视人与人的关系。卢老师亦提及爱丁堡大学(The University of Edinburgh)的赫塔多教授(Prof. Larry Hurtado)。赫塔多教授是他的博士论文指导老师,也是他的生命师傅。在卢老师经历信仰的挣扎时,这位老师为他祷告,给他忠告。赫塔多教授每天都戴着十架项链,到晚上才解下,早上又重新戴上,表明自己要天天背着主的十架。这位教授的学问修为和敬虔心灵,深深影响着卢老师。

第二天的分题是「享受研究写作」,由邓绍光老师负责。认识邓老师多年,我以为他必定以他惯常的方式演讲,于是我带备电脑和笔记簿,预备一面听课,一面写下笔记。怎料出人意表,邓老师这次竟然透过游戏与我们一起讨论和分享,他的教与学叫人耳目一新!

接着叫我印象深刻的,是8月18至20日举行的「属灵操练营」。在19日下午,陈展鸣老师带领一个示范环节,名为「奉献生命的整合:生命教练模式示范」。一位毕业班同学愿意一起进行示范,回答陈老师这位生命教练的提问。

首条问题是:作为高年级学生,她觉得一年级学生最须要留意什么事情?第二条问题是:读神学最难之处在哪?第三条问题分为两部分:什么是她最须要改变的三件事?在这三件事中,哪一项最须要改变?对于最后一条问题,这位同学的回答是「人际关系」。

这些是开学前三个礼拜的生活剪影,当中的经历叫人回味。一年前,我开始为新学年的方向而思考。我的直观感觉是,神学院须要在学院自身和教会的教育方面多作深入的讨论和教研。我很希望老师在教学上更精进,也希望香港的教会更着重不同年龄层的教育,尤其是青少年教育。没想到这般恰巧,老师在「教授退修会」里自发地交流教学的经验和心得;而在「属灵操练营」的其中一个环节,同学亦提到在神学院的学习过程中,「关系」尤为重要。

我不得不赞美神奇妙的恩领,让我们在新学年同心合意地思想「教导」和「关系」的重要性。

教导是在爱中建立基督的身体

什么是教导呢?教导的英文字是edification,意思取自oikosdomeoOikos的意思是「屋」或「住所」; domeo则有「建立」之意。欧斯孟(Richard Osmer)指出,edification最简单的意思是「建立基督的群体作为神的灵的居所」。教导事工帮助信徒操练他们的属灵恩赐,并且在事奉中成长。教导的任务是帮助信徒认知、领受和操练他们的恩赐,并认知「爱」是最重要的规范,而教导事工必须被爱的规范所指引。

欧斯孟对哥林多前书两段经文作出诠释,指出教会的教导事工一个重要的义涵:教导是在爱中建立基督的身体。欧斯孟解释,保罗面对一个决裂的群体,信徒效忠不同的领袖(林前三4)。面对教会的分裂问题,保罗教导他们要在爱中建立基督的身体。

在哥林多前书第三章,保罗描绘了三幅图像(images)。保罗首先用田地的图像说明生命的「栽种」和「浇灌」(三6-8),他说:「可见栽种的,算不得什么,浇灌的,也算不得什么;只在那叫他生长的神。」(三7)他指出栽种和浇灌都是「一样」的工作(one in the work),他的栽种和亚波罗的浇灌彼此配合,带来了生命的成长。因为他们都是与神同工的工人(synergoi),都是基督的工人(fellow laborers),都属乎神,在神以下同心合意地作工(三9上)。他们须彼此倚赖、合作,同心同工。彼此倚赖、合作互助是基督群体的一个标志。

保罗接续用房屋的图像重申以上要点,谈到教会是神的房屋(三9)。首先,房屋必须有根基,而耶稣基督就是根基(三11)。这显示教会的管家要谨慎地在基督的根基上建造房屋(三10);教会若非建造在基督的根基上,就不是教会(三11)。没有耶稣基督,教会只是社团。第二,房屋的不同部分必须互相依赖,彼此接合,方能牢固。这隐喻排除教会中的个人主义,不纵容「各自为政」。

保罗在三章10至15节论及房屋的工匠。他将自己比作基督群体中的工头,形容自己立下了根基,其他人要小心翼翼地在这根基上建造房屋(三10)。工匠可以使用不同的建筑材料,或用草木、禾秸,或用金、银、宝石。工匠的工作将被试验,最后面对审判的火。惟有材料坚固、建造在基督的根基上的,方能承受审判的火。因此保罗发出警告︰「只是各人要谨慎怎样在上面建造」(三10);「人的工程若被烧了,他就要受亏损」(三15)。

第三个图像是神的殿︰惟有神的灵能叫教会成为圣洁,成为神的殿(三17)。这图像预示了第十二章所谈及的「身体」的隐喻。圣殿的角色是神的居所,保罗却指出教会是圣殿,这是相当惊人的说法,意味基督的群体代表了耶路撒冷的殿。 「因为上帝的殿是圣的,这殿就是你们。」(三17下)「岂不知你们是上帝的殿,上帝的灵住在你们里头吗?」(三16)保罗的意思是:教会是否圣殿,是否分别为圣,就在于神的灵是否内住。人若伤害教会,就是敌挡圣灵;若玷污教会的圣洁,就是拆毁神的殿。任何争竞式的敌对或吹嘘的抬举,都构成毁坏圣殿的罪行(三16-17)。因此,这种敌对、抬举不仅是一种连于人际关系的罪,也是干犯神的罪。

在基督的爱中培养与神、与人的关系

在此基础上,保罗在哥林多前书十二至十四章讲述属灵恩赐在爱中的使用。他在三章、十二至十四章非常强调圣灵,并指出圣灵居住于基督的群体之中。事实上,圣灵首先的行动是建立基督的群体;圣灵将不同恩赐分给教会的成员(十二4-11),目的是叫基督的群体得益处。在第十三章,保罗指出爱是所有属灵恩赐的规范。 「爱是恒久忍耐,又有恩慈」(十三4上),就如神的爱是长久地忍耐,充满恩慈。爱的标记是多样性中的合一,是党派主义和骄傲的解药。

这样的爱是灵性的,意味爱是圣灵的工作;我们整个生命、整个存有,都被圣灵的工作所转化,以致我们能在爱中行动。我们都被圣灵呼唤去行动。我们的行动与圣灵的能力联合起来,这联合不是我们所能拆开的。透过圣灵的权能,那不能爱的旧有能力被治死,以致新的存有、新的生命方式能在我们里面形成。当旧有的生命方式被治死,我们便开始在以爱为标记的新生命中成长。

因此,教会的教导不单要注重圣经、神学、历史的知识,更要着重关系的培育,帮助信徒更爱神、更爱人。这意味老师的教导不仅是知识和信念的传递,不仅帮助弟兄姊妹认知、领受、操练他们的恩赐,更要帮助他们在基督的爱中培养与神、与人的关系。爱能建立弟兄姊妹,叫人重视自己跟神、跟别人的关系。

按照圣经的教导,人与神的关系必然跟人与人的关系息息相关。我们不能靠自己成为基督徒;其他基督徒拥有一些我们没有的恩赐。别人能帮助我们更认识神,看见自己对神的理解如何贫乏;别人能帮助我们看见自己生命的不足和限制,并且挑战我们一同成长。换言之,我们若渴望与神建立更亲密的关系,是需要其他基督徒的扶持和支持,需要他们跟我们分享他们的生命和智慧。不然的话,教导很容易变为冰冷的信念或道德职责的持守,造成了教条式或道德主义的宗教信仰。

成为上帝建立基督群体的好同工

因此,在教会的教导事工上,老师的一个重要职事,是在课堂中鼓励弟兄姊妹在基督里分享学问和生命,深化他们与神、与人的关系,建立基督的群体。老师要不断反思:假如学生不能在课堂中深化他们与神、与人的关系,他们可以从哪里得到帮助?可否在其他教会生活得到灵性成长的机会?然而,若他们不愿与别人分享和交流,正显示了他们跟神的关系没有成长。故此,老师要教导学生相交、分享学问和生命,让各人不单接收知识,也乐于在群体中分享恩赐、智慧和生命。

要教导弟兄姊妹相交和分享,老师也要操练一些推动分享的教学技艺,而其中一样技艺是透过讨论去分享。讨论是一种推动分享的教学方法,透过讨论,学生能够从一个较被动的接收者,转为学习群体中一个主动的贡献者。成员可在相互交谈时,分享他们的思想和生命,并且聆听别人的思想和生命。真诚的分享能帮助人与神的关系更成长。

那么,老师须学习如何培养课堂中的真诚交谈和分享。这意味他们要有带领讨论的技巧,能够提出好问题,并且跟进问题,从而作出教导。可是,老师也要明白他们不能「自制」或强求美好的讨论。要促成美好的讨论,老师要倚靠圣灵的引导,帮助弟兄姊妹进入一种深度的分享,叫他们成为一个基督的群体。那么,老师的任务不是控制圣灵的工作,而是成为圣灵的器皿,让神决定祂创造基督群体的时间和地方。老师的任务是在人的限制里尽力教导和服侍,成为上帝建立基督群体的一个好同工,从而建立关系——建立基督的群体。

在新学年,深愿我们的老师团队也有上述的教学理念和实践,一同在教导上更精益求精,不仅教导知识,也教导学生在圣灵之下一同「建立基督的群体」,以此作为神的灵的居所。换言之,老师不仅教导知识,也教导关系,教导人与神、与人建立关系。如此,我们在课室、饭堂、祈祷会里,在等车、在同行时,都可多讨论,多交流学问和生命,多谈论神,分享神的恩赐和恩惠。

同样,我们的同学在教会事奉时,也要学习不仅着重宣讲,也着重教导;不仅教导知识,也教导关系,建立人与神、与人的关系。深愿同学在教会的教导更精益求精,不仅教导知识,也教导弟兄姊妹在圣灵之下一同「建立基督的群体」,以此作为神的灵的居所。

2015年10月

相关文章

「浸神」实践神学之路

自2009年,香港浸信会神学院(「浸神」)便致力建构具有「神学智慧」(theologia)的实践神学。具有「神学智慧」的传道者能辨明耶稣基督的心肠,并且帮助人以祂的思想、感受和榜样去践行所信之道,对当下的处境作出正确的行动回应。实践神学强调神学的实践智慧,可以在牧养场景和社会现实的处境中切实应用,叫人在充满挑战的日子无惧艰难,乘着灵风,坚毅前行。