HKBTS's Path to Practical Theology

HKBTS's Path to Practical Theology

Since 2009, Hong Kong Baptist Theological Seminary (“Baptist Theological Seminary”) has been committed to building a “theologically wise” (theologia) practical theology.Preachers with “theological wisdom” discern Jesus Christofheart, and help people use his thoughts, feelings and examples to practice what they believe in and respond to the current situation with correct actions.Practical theology emphasizes the practical wisdom of theology, which can be practically applied in pastoral scenes and social reality, so that people can be fearless in challenging days, ride on the spiritual wind, and move forward with perseverance.

Constructing Practical Theologycultivateservant leader

To construct such a practical theology, "Baptism" must first become a spiritual learning group, in which teachers and students are called by God to diligently study the Bible and theology, and to mature their faith, reason, and discernment abilities. ; Teachers, students, and co-workers treat each other with enthusiasm, connect to the fellowship of the Trinity, establish a sincere friendship, nurture the quality of life in disciples, and open the mind of self-examination, so that the entire group can be full of confidence, love, and integrity , the fruits of righteousness, hope, humility, faithfulness, truthfulness, and joy.

Therefore, "Baptism" is committed to cultivating not only students' academic excellence, but also their spiritual character, and enabling them to serve the Lord and others in the church and society, and become servant leaders ( servant-leader). Therefore, we not only pursue excellence in teaching and research, but also focus on students’ spiritual training, church pastoral care, and social participation. In other words,We must equip students to become servant leaders who shoulder the mission of the gospel, have a good spiritual life and character, and be able to use their thinking and leadership skills to fight a good fight for the Lord throughout their lives..

Teaching Practical TheologyUse synergy

In 2010, the professor team of the college entered a new stage - the stage of practicing "synergy". I interviewed the teachers one by one to understand each teacher’s primary and secondary teaching and research fields, as well as their concerns for the church and society. Then I combined the teaching expertise and research fields of each teacher to piece together a beautiful picture of team work. So we started to learnInterdisciplinary integration and complementarity can more effectively help students learn and implement practical theology with "theological wisdom".

The teaching team is required to play a synergistic role in order to avoid the problems of excessive categorization and fragmentation in contemporary theological education; more importantly, this can generate tremendous power to meet the various challenges encountered by the church and society. Therefore, many subjects of "Baptism" adopt the "team teaching" model; in fact, "team teaching" is also another practical form of "Baptism" practical theology. The so-called "collaborative teaching" means that two or more teachers cooperate with each other to plan and teach the same subject. Teachers may take turns teaching, or interact in the same field, or one teacher may teach while other teachers observe and supplement, which is flexible and changeable. The teachers teach and practice wholeheartedly, and do not stick to sectarian opinions. They bring together everyone's strengths in the classroom and exchange knowledge with each other. Teachers' own knowledge is thus improved; students can also expand their horizons from the teachings of different teachers and learn how to integrate knowledge in various fields across disciplines.

Over the past ten years, "Baptism" has worked hard to construct a practical theology with "theological wisdom" and tried to concretely implement it in the church's pastoral work and social reality, including preaching, missions, pastoral care, social care, Youth pastoral care, environmental conservation and other areas.

Practical Theology: Preaching

Preaching is an extremely important ministry for evangelists. We must declare the message of the gospel faithfully and humbly, preaching only Christ and His cross, rather than packaging it in euphemistic and colorful words.

From 2010 to 2011, and from 2017 to 2019, I wrote a total of seven articles related to preaching in "Hospital News".1 We hope that "Baptist God" will become a school of preaching, and train students to become evangelists who preach the gospel of the cross, shepherds who care for the needs of the congregation, and prophets who dare to preach the truth.. In the past few days, teachers and classmates have made progress and grown together in their preaching practice, whether it is the skills and messages of preaching, the spirituality of preaching, or even the testimony of life.

Theology in practice: mission

Mission is an inevitable practice for a group of disciples to face the church and the world. From 2011 to 2013, I wrote seven consecutive articles on missions in "House News".2 I pray that "Baptist God" will follow the guidance of the Holy Spirit, fulfill God's mission, and actively share the great love and grace of Christ with strangers with a heart of hospitality.. This is the practice of the integral mission of mission.

Teachers and students at the college learn to be hospitable to the "littlest" strangers, take the initiative to visit the poor and needy, and share with them the vitality and peace of the gospel. Strangers live not only in Hong Kong, but also in mainland China, Asia, and in different corners of the world. Teachers and students go to different mission fields every year to warmly entertain local strangers and witness to them the love of Christ.

Theology in practice:pastoral care

Pastoral care is the preacher’s eagerness to experience God’s mysterious grace with those who are different from him after experiencing God’s hospitality and His unconditional forgiveness. Between 2013 and 2015, I wrote six articles on pastoral care in "College News".3 Pray that our calling is not onlyyesBe hospitable to fellow travelers we like, but also to strangers and those who have done us harm., because we are convinced that hospitality born of a forgiving heart can exert a more profound influence and bring about unity in the church and a relationship of mutual solidarity.

In addition to having a forgiving heart, the preacher, as a caregiver, must also have an "understanding" based on empathy, so that he can reframe the other person's problem, thus changing the meaning of the event to the person involved. This empathy must be exercised and cultivated before it becomes second nature to the caregiver. In addition, prayer is also an important practice in pastoral care. Prayer brings fellowship and communication between people and God and between people (koinonia). Prayer can help us understand God’s will and choose the most appropriate solution.

Theology in practice:societymeetingcare

Between 2016 and 2020, I wrote six articles on social care in "Hospital News".4 Praying to "baptize God" in a broken and divided worldmiddle, become a complexWorka group that practices charity and justice.

To learn social care, we must understand the message of Micah 6:8. The covenant God requires us to obey is a "triad" command. The first two parts of this command are common covenant responsibilities familiar to the Israelites: "do justice" and "love mercy." The third part is "walk humbly with your God." True humility is to allow God’s righteousness to penetrate deeply into our hearts, to make our righteousness submissive under God’s righteousness, and to allow His grace to help us transcend our own limited boundaries.

On January 16, 2018, our hospital held a spiritual training day with the theme of "Going into the Community". More than a hundred teachers and students from the college were divided into seven groups and went to five areas (Yau Ma Tei, To Kwa Wan, Tai Kok Tsui, Shek Kip Mei, Sham Shui Po) to participate in community activities, where they further discovered and saw the needy and helpless people around them.

Theology in practice:Youth Pastoral Care

On September 18, 2021, "Baptist God" held the first "Youth Theological Education Camp", with more than a hundred young people participating. Since then, we have begun to think about the pastoral concept of the youth pastoral theologian Andrew Root.5 Lu Enzhe pointed out: For a long time, youth workers have thought that if there are more activities, young people will stay in the church. However, many teenagers end up leaving the church. Why is this happening? Lu Enzhe believes that churches actively build jungles through activities, or that some churches focus on discipleship training and plant many trees, but ignore the theological soil in which the trees take root. Therefore, youth ministry is not just asking “How do we attract young people to come to church?”, but more importantly, “Where is Jesus Christ?”The purpose of youth ministry is to enable young people to be with God and with others.

Theology in practice:environmental conservation

Environmental conservation extends the concerns of practical theology to the nature created by God. Between 2017 and 2023, I wrote four articles about ecological theology in "Journal News".6 I hope that the group of disciples of "Baptist God" will live out the Creator's intention, which is to celebrate God's restored gospel with all things, and live a simple, contented, and self-controlled life., do not indulge in lust or be greedy to the detriment of our neighbors and the earth.

"Baptism" further implements research and attention on environmental conservation into campus life. The college established the "Campus Environmental Protection Research Group" in 2018, which is responsible for researching and promoting issues related to the college's energy efficiency, waste reduction and recycling, and greening the campus. It has successfully implemented various environmental protection plans and installed solar energy on the rooftops of each building in the Western Australian campus. It also has a power generation facility and collects the hospital’s food waste to produce organic compost.

The concept of practical theology

"Baptist" has been studying hard and moving forward on the road of practical theology for more than ten years. We have moved from topics such as "preaching", "missions" and "pastoral care" to "social care" and "youth pastoral care". Then towards "environmental conservation", together we established a generation of servant leaders.

What is the philosophy behind these steady efforts? "Baptist God" has always strived to cultivate church leaders, hoping that they can equip brothers and sisters in the church to meet current challenges and look forward to the future. Over the past ten years, "Baptism" has been gradually constructedPractical Theology of the Church.

Having said that, what exactly is “practical theology”? Some believe that practical theology is simply the practical application of biblical and theological beliefs. They believe that theology (such as systematic theology) tends to construct abstract theories, soaring high above life like an eagle, providing people with a grand vision and asking people to apply this grand vision to life. In contrast, practical theology can be said to be a "one-off" theology, and its tasks and methods must be constantly rediscovered. Therefore, this must be flexible and ad hoc.

However, this view oversimplifies practical theology. Practical theology is not only about the field of practice, nor is it work after the establishment of an ideological system, it is a theology in itself. Practical theology worker Duncan Forrester pointed out that the concerns of practical theology include: people need to discern God’s actions in the world; consider human behavior and current events from a theological perspective; pay attention to the existence and activities of the church; pay attention to the practice of Christians .7 Kenda Dean describes practical theology as a branch of theology that not only interprets sacred texts and traditions but also guides "the faithful walk."8 Don Browning proposed that all theology is practical: theology is a kind of practical wisdom (Phronesis). Practical theology is "really doing theology" to clarify the practice of Christian faith so as to face and solve the specific problems of life.9 It’s about the theological insight and action of Christians who live faithfully. That's why,Practical theology is not onlyOnlyIt is the application of theory,alsomust be somehow deepenterengage in theology, think and practice theology in multiple contexts,So easyTheology speaks to the world through action. Richard Osmer pointed out: Practical theology is a type of theology; it uses theological concepts, methods and resources to construct theology and dialogues with other fields, including art and science.10

At Baptism, we often talk critically about Osmund's ideas. Dr. She Zhifeng, Pastor Lin Guobin and myself have all taught his ideas. Osment's method of practical theology consists of four interdependent parts: "the descriptive-empirical task" (the descriptive-empirical task), "the interpretive task" (the interpretive task), "the normative task" (the normative task) and “the pragmatic task” (the pragmatic task). First, the "descriptive-empirical task" asks the question: "What happened?"11 Seek to establish the facts of a particular situation.12 Second, the “explanatory task” asks: “Why does this happen?”13 Strive to understand reality through various theories, models or reflections.14 Third, the “normative task” asks: “What should it be?”15 Aim to determine norms through reflection on biblical texts, doctrinal traditions, moral standards, and models of good practice. This is a kind of "prophetic discernment." Fourth, the “Pragmatic Task” asks: “How can we respond?”16 This is not just about fixing the problem or implementing some corrective procedures, but it is about embarking on a holistic, transformative process that transforms church ministry.

Practical theology: a theology that is constantly practiced

During these fourteen years, "Baptism" has gradually established a practical theology with "theological wisdom."In the past three years, I have become more and more convinced that practical theology, especiallywere ableHelp the church properly and thoroughlynoodleTo the special time and space of the present moment.A model of practical theology, like the one proposed by Osmond, allows church leaders to demonstrate the practical wisdom of theology. It invites leaders to reflect on Scripture, theology, and current social contexts, bringing the fields into dialogue with each other and focusing on good practice. In fact, "practical theology" is more like a verb than a noun, referring to "practicing theology." Practical theology begins with the analytical task of description, necessarily embodying theology in praxis.Practical theology and its tasks(performative task)The climax is when people witness God’s work in the moment, renewing our faith and understanding, and renewing our practice.
________________________________

1 "School of Preaching." The Spirituality of Preaching> (July 2010), "The Preaching of the Evangelist" (October 2010), "The Preaching of the Shepherd's Care" (January 2011), "The Preaching of the Prophet" (July 2011), "Talk about "Preaching" and "Graduation Preaching" (April 2017), "Exercise of Theological Wisdom: Preaching" (April 2018), "Moving Further towards Preaching" (January 2019).
2"The Mission of Discipleship" (October 2011), "The Mission of Discipleship" (January 2012), "Mission and the Holy Spirit" (April 2012), "Hospitality - Practicing Mission" Integral Mission》(July 2012), "Integral Mission--The Gospel for the Poor?" 〉(October 2012), 〈Poverty of the “non-poor”〉(January 2013), and 〈From ‘Siding with the Poor’ to ‘Healing of Life’〉 (April 2013).
3"The Pastoral Theology of Forgiveness" (October 2013), "Pastoral Theology from Hospitality to Forgiveness" (January 2014), "Spiritual Care and Mental Health" (April 2014), " An "understanding" from caregivers - empathy> (July 2014), "Empathetic Listening" (October 2014), "Care and Prayer" (April 2015).
4 "Discernment of the Church" (April 2016), "Our Hearts Honor the Lord" (July 2016), "Teaching Justice" (October 2016), "Re-Talk about Doing Justice: Honoring the Lord" big. "Walking with God" (January 2017), "The Season of Grief" (October 2019), "Thinking and Believing in the Season of Grief" (January 2020).
5<Spread your wings and soar. Cross-border inheritance of faith, hope and love》 (January 2022); see "Starting from the Youth Theological Education Camp...", April 2022 issue of "School News".
6"Talk about ecological peace" (October 2017), "The gospel of greenness" (April 2020), "Living in it" (October 2022), "God sees everything he has created... Very good> (April 2023).
7 DB Forrester, “Can Theology Be Practical?” in Practical Theology: International Perspectives, ed. F. Schweitzer and JA ven der Ven (Frankfurt: Peter Lang, 1999), 22.
8 Kenda Creasy Dean, "We Will Find the Answers as We Go: A Response to Chap Clark's Youth Ministry as Practical Theology," Journal of Youth Ministry 7.1 (2008): 39.
9 DS Browning, A Fundamental Practical Theology: Descriptive and Strategic Proposals (Minneapolis: Fortress, 1996), 15.
10 R. Osmer, Practical Theology: An Introduction (Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 2008), 163.
11 Osmer, Practical Theology, 4.
12 Osmer, Practical Theology, 24.
13 Osmer, Practical Theology, 4.
14 Osmer, Practical Theology, 85.
15 Osmer, Practical Theology, 4.
16 Osmer, Practical Theology, 4.

July 2023

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.

Related Posts

A Sorrowful Season

A sad season The issue of the sewage pumping station resurfaced again last year at the beginning of the new semester, and I had a feeling that the 2018-19 school year would not be an easy year. ...

Delight in the Torah

From September 12th to 16th this year, I taught a doctoral class in theology at Nanjing Jinling Union Theological Seminary. In the seminar on Christian ethics, I led the students to study various major works on ethics, including philosophical ethics, Le Man (Paul. . .

「浸神」實踐神學之路

「浸神」實踐神學之路

自2009年,香港浸信會神學院(「浸神」)便致力建構具有「神學智慧」(theologia)的實踐神學。具有「神學智慧」的傳道者能辨明耶穌基督心腸,並且幫助人以祂的思想、感受和榜樣去踐行所信之道,對當下的處境作出正確的行動回應。實踐神學強調神學的實踐智慧,可以在牧養場景和社會現實的處境中切實應用,叫人在充滿挑戰的日子無懼艱難,乘著靈風,堅毅前行。

建構實踐神學培育僕人領袖

要建構這樣的實踐神學,「浸神」就首先要成為一個屬靈的學習群體,其中的老師和學生同蒙神的呼召,殷勤學習聖經和神學,要讓信心、理性和辨識能力得以成熟;師生和同工又彼此熱誠相待,連結於三一神的團契,建立真摯的友情,孕育門徒生命的素質,讓自省的心懷得以敞開,以致整個群體可以結滿信心、仁愛、正直、公義、盼望、謙卑、忠誠、誠實和喜樂的果子。

因此,「浸神」要致力培育的,不單單是學生在學術上卓越的成績表現,還有他們的屬靈品格,並且要他們能夠在教會和社會裏服侍主、服侍人,成為僕人領袖(servant-leader)。所以我們不但追求卓越的教學和研究,並且著重學生的靈性操練、堂會牧養、社會參與。換言之,我們要裝備學生成為肩負福音使命的僕人領袖,具有美好的屬靈生命和品格,又能運用思考力,發揮領導力,一生為主打美好的仗

教授實踐神學發揮協合作用

2010年,學院的教授團隊踏進了新階段──實踐「協合作用」(synergy)的階段。我曾逐一訪問老師,了解每位老師的主、副教研領域,以及他們對教會和社會的關注;然後把各老師的教學專長和研究領域綜合起來,拼合出一幅美麗的隊工圖畫。於是我們開始學習科際整合,互補不足,好更有效地幫助學生學習及落實那具有「神學智慧」的實踐神學

要教授團隊發揮協合作用,是為了避免當代神學教育過於分門別類、支離破碎的毛病;更為重要的是,這能夠產生巨大的力量,以迎接教會和社會所遇到的種種挑戰。因此,「浸神」有不少科目採用「協同教學」(team teaching)模式;其實,「協同教學」也是「浸神」實踐神學的另一種實踐形態。所謂「協同教學」,即兩位或以上的老師彼此合作策劃並教授同一科。老師們或輪流教授,或同場互動,或一位老師教授,其他老師觀察及補充,靈活多變。老師全心全意地教授及實踐,不拘泥於門戶之見,在課堂上聚合各人之長,互相交流學問。老師自己的學問因而得到提升;學生也可從不同老師的教學上,拓展視野,學習怎樣把各範疇的知識進行科際整合。

這十數年間,「浸神」努力建構具有「神學智慧」的實踐神學,並且嘗試具體地落實於教會的牧養工作和社會的現實場景,包括宣講、宣教、教牧關顧、社會關懷、青少年牧養、環境保育等範疇。

實踐中的神學:宣講

宣講是傳道者一個極其重要的職事,我們要忠信地、謙卑地宣告福音的信息,只傳基督和祂的十字架,而不是用委婉絢麗的話來包裝。

2010至2011、並2017至2019年間,我在《院訊》共撰寫了七篇有關宣講的文章,1 祈盼「浸神」成為一所宣講的學院,培育同學成為宣講十字架福音的福音使者、關顧會眾需要的牧人、敢於宣講真理的先知。過往一段日子,老師和同學在講道實踐上,無論是講道的技巧和信息、宣講的靈性,以至生活的見證,都一同進步,一同成長。

實踐中的神學:宣教

宣教是門徒群體面向教會、面向世界的必然實踐。2011至2013年間,我在《院訊》一連撰寫了七篇有關宣教的文章,2 祈盼「浸神」順著聖靈的引導,踐行神的宣教使命,以殷切款待的心靈,向陌生人主動分享基督的大愛和恩典。這是宣教的整全使命的實踐。

學院的師生學習殷切款待那些「最小」的陌生人,主動探訪貧乏和有需要的人,向他們分享福音的生命力和平安。陌生人不但生活在香港,也在內地、亞洲,以及世界的不同角落。師生每年前往不同的宣教工場,殷切款待當地的陌生人,向他們見證基督的愛。

實踐中的神學:教牧關顧

教牧關顧是傳道者經歷了神的款待及祂那份無條件的寬恕後,殷切地跟那些與自己不同的人一同經歷神奧祕的恩典。2013至2015年間,我在《院訊》撰寫了六篇有關教牧關顧的文章,3 祈盼我們的召命不單款待那些我們喜歡的同路人,也款待陌生人及那些曾傷害我們的人,因深信那出於寬恕心靈的款待能發揮更深遠的影響力,帶來教會合一、彼此休戚與共(solidarity)的關係。

除了具備寬恕的心靈,傳道者作為一個關顧者,也要有一份出自同理心(empathy)的「理解」,以致能夠重構(reframe)對方的問題,從而改變事件對當事人的意義。這份同理心必須經過鍛鍊、培養,才能成為關顧者的第二天性。另外,禱告也是教牧關顧一種很重要的實踐。禱告讓人與神、人與人得以團契相通(koinonia)。禱告能幫助我們體察神的心意,選擇最適切的方案。

實踐中的神學:關懷

2016至2020年間,我在《院訊》撰寫了六篇有關社會關懷的文章,4 祈盼「浸神」在破碎、割裂的世界,成為一個作復和工作的群體,踐行仁愛和公義

要學習社會關懷,就必須明白彌迦書六章8節的信息。神要求我們遵行的聖約,是一個「三合一」(triad)的命令。這命令的前兩個部分,是以色列人熟悉的聖約的共同責任:「行公義」和「好憐憫」;第三部分則是「存謙卑的心,與你的神同行」。真正的謙卑是容讓神的公義深深進入我們的心,叫我們的公義伏在神的公義之下,讓祂的恩惠幫助我們超越自己有限的邊界。

2018年1月16日,本院舉行屬靈操練日,主題為「走入社區」。學院師生百多人分成七組,進到五個地區(油麻地、土瓜灣、大角咀、石硤尾、深水埗)參與社區活動,從中進一步發現和看見身邊困苦無助的人。

實踐中的神學:青少年牧養

2021年9月18日,「浸神」舉辦了首屆「青年神學教育營」,有百多位青年人參加。自此以後,我們開始思想青少年牧養神學家路恩哲(Andrew Root)的牧養概念。5 路恩哲指出:長期以來,青少年工作者以為活動多了,青少年就會留在教會。可是,許多青少年卻最終離開教會。為甚麼有這種情況?路恩哲認為教會積極通過活動來建立叢林,或者也有一些教會著重門徒訓練,藉此栽種很多樹木,卻忽略了樹木扎根的神學土壤。因此,青少年事工不是單單問「我們怎麼吸引年輕人來教會?」,而是更要問「耶穌基督在哪裏?」。青少年事工的目的,是叫年輕人與神同在,並且與他人同在。

實踐中的神學:環境保育

環境保育是將實踐神學的關注,延伸到神所創造的大自然。2017至2023年間,我在《院訊》撰寫了四篇有關生態神學的文章,6 祈盼「浸神」這個門徒群體,活出創造主的心意,就是與萬物一同慶賀神的復和福音,並且過簡樸、知足、自制的生活,不縱情恣欲,貪得無厭,以致傷害鄰舍和地球。

「浸神」將環境保育的研究和關注,進一步落實在校園生活。學院在2018年成立「校舍環保研究小組」,負責研究及推動有關學院的能源效益、減廢回收、綠化校舍等事宜,並成功落實各環保方案,在西澳校舍各幢大樓的天台安裝了太陽能發電設施,又收集本院的廚餘製造成有機堆肥。

實踐神學的理念

「浸神」十數年來在實踐神學的路上勉力學習,不斷前行;我們從「宣講」、「宣教」、「教牧關顧」等課題,進入「社會關懷」及「青少年牧養」,再朝向「環境保育」,一同建立了一代僕人領袖。

這些細水長流的努力背後的理念是甚麼?一直以來,「浸神」竭力培養教會領袖,希望他們能在教會中裝備弟兄姊妹,一同迎接當下的挑戰,並展望將來。十數年間,「浸神」正逐步建構教會的實踐神學

話說回來,「實踐神學」究竟是甚麼?有些人認為實踐神學只是聖經和神學信念的實際應用。他們認為神學(例如系統神學)趨向建構抽象的理論,如鷹展翅翱翔,高高飛翔在生活之上,為人提供壯闊的視野,叫人把這宏偉的願景應用於生活。相對來說,實踐神學則可以說是「一次性」的神學,要不斷重新發掘其任務和方法。因此,這必須是靈活和臨時的。

然而,這種說法把實踐神學看得過分簡單了。實踐神學不僅關乎實踐的領域,也不是思想體系建立之後的工作,它本身就是一門神學。實踐神學工作者佛雷斯特(Duncan Forrester)指出,實踐神學關注的包括:人要辨別神在世上的作為;從神學角度考慮人類行為和時事;關注教會的存在和活動;關注基督徒的實踐。7 迪恩(Kenda Dean)將實踐神學描述為神學的一個分支;實踐神學不僅解釋神聖文本和傳統,而且指導「忠誠的踐行」(the faithful walk)。8 布朗寧(Don Browning)提出,所有神學都是實踐性的(practical):神學是一種實踐智慧(phronesis)。實踐神學是「真正地做神學」,以闡明基督教信仰的實踐,好面對和解決生活的具體問題。9 這關乎忠誠生活的基督徒的神學洞察力和行動。是故,實踐神學不僅是理論的應用,必須以某種方式深地參與神學,在多種脈絡下思想和實踐神學,好讓神學通過行動向世界說話。歐斯孟(Richard Osmer)指出:實踐神學是神學的一種;它使用神學的概念、方法和資源來建構神學,並且跟其他領域對話,包括藝術和科學。10

在「浸神」,我們有不少時候批判地談論歐斯孟的想法。佘枝鳳博士、林國彬牧師及本人都曾教授他的思想。歐斯孟的實踐神學方法由四個相互依存的部分組成:「描述性─經驗性任務」(the descriptive-empirical task)、「解釋性任務」(the interpretive task)、「規範性任務」(the normative task)和「務實性任務」(the pragmatic task)。第一,「描述性─經驗性任務」提出的問題是:「發生了甚麼事?」11 務求確定特定情況的事實。12 第二,「解釋性任務」提問:「為何這樣發生?」13 務求通過各種理論、模型或反思來理解實情。14 第三,「規範性任務」提出:「應該是怎樣?」15 務求通過反思聖經文本、教義傳統、道德標準、良好實踐模式來確定規範。這是一種「先知性辨別力」。第四,「務實性任務」提出:「我們可以如何回應?」16 這不僅是要解決問題或實施一些糾正程序,還需要開展一個整體的、變革性的過程,以改變教會事工。

實踐神學:不停實踐的神學

這十四年間,「浸神」逐步建立具有「神學智慧」的實踐神學。近三年,我越來越相信實踐神學尤其能夠恰切地、徹底地幫助教會對當下的特殊時空。一個實踐神學的模型,像歐斯孟提出的模型,能讓教會領袖展現神學的實踐智慧。它邀請領袖們反思聖經、神學和當前的社會脈絡,讓各領域互相對話,並著眼於良好的實踐。事實上,「實踐神學」更像是個動詞,而不是個名詞,是指向「正在實踐神學」(practicing theology)。實踐神學從描述的分析任務開始,必然體現實踐(praxis)中的神學。實踐神學其實現任務(performative task)的高潮是人見證神在當下的工作,更新我們的信心和理解,又更新我們的實踐。
________________________________

1 〈宣講的學院.宣講的靈性〉(2010年7月)、〈福音使者的宣講〉(2010年10月)、〈牧人關顧的宣講〉(2011年1月)、〈先知的宣講〉(2011年7月)、〈談「宣講」與「畢業講道」〉(2017年4月)、〈神學智慧的鍛鍊:宣講〉(2018年4月)、〈朝宣講的方向再邁進〉(2019年1月)。
2〈門徒群體的宣教使命〉(2011年10月)、〈作門徒的宣教使命〉(2012年1月)、〈宣教使命與聖靈〉(2012年4月)、〈殷切款待──踐行宣教的整全使命〉(2012年7月)、〈整全的宣教使命──貧窮人的福音?〉(2012年10月)、〈「非貧窮人」的貧窮〉(2013年1月)及〈從「站在窮人那邊」到「生命的醫治」〉(2013年4月)。
3〈「寬恕」的教牧學〉(2013年10月)、〈由殷切款待到寬恕的教牧神學〉(2014年1月)、〈靈性關顧與精神健康〉(2014年4月)、〈關顧者的一份「理解」──同理心〉(2014年7月)、〈同理心的聆聽〉(2014年10月)、〈關顧與禱告〉(2015年4月)。
4 〈教會的辨識〉(2016年4月)、〈我們的心尊主為大〉(2016年7月)、〈教導公義〉(2016年10月)、〈再談行公義:尊主為大.與神同行〉(2017年1月)、〈悲傷的季節〉(2019年10月)、〈悲傷季節中的思考和相信〉(2020年1月)。
5〈展翅騰揚.跨界傳承信望愛〉(2022年1月);參〈從青年神學教育營說起……〉,《院訊》2022年4月號。
6〈談生態和平〉(2017年10月)、〈綠油油的福音〉(2020年4月)、〈活在其中〉(2022年10月)、〈神看一切所造的······都非常好〉(2023年4月)。
7 D. B. Forrester, “Can Theology Be Practical?” in Practical Theology: International Perspectives, ed. F. Schweitzer and J. A. ven der Ven (Frankfurt: Peter Lang, 1999), 22.
8 Kenda Creasy Dean, “We Will Find the Answers as We Go: A Response to Chap Clark’s Youth Ministry as Practical Theology,” Journal of Youth Ministry 7.1 (2008): 39.
9 D. S. Browning, A Fundamental Practical Theology: Descriptive and Strategic Proposals (Minneapolis: Fortress, 1996), 15.
10 R. Osmer, Practical Theology: An Introduction (Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 2008), 163.
11 Osmer, Practical Theology, 4.
12 Osmer, Practical Theology, 24.
13 Osmer, Practical Theology, 4.
14 Osmer, Practical Theology, 85.
15 Osmer, Practical Theology, 4.
16 Osmer, Practical Theology, 4.

2023年7月

評論被關閉,但引用和禁用Pingbacks是開放的。

相關文章

悲傷的季節

悲傷的季節 污水泵房問題再次浮現   去年新學期開始,心裏有預感,2018-19學年將會是不容易的一年。...