Hospitality - Practicing the Integral Mission

Hospitality - Practicing the Integral Mission

Cordially Treating the Humble Stranger

In the New Testament, hospitality is the mark of a Christian. The term does not merely mean courteous and civilized conduct. It also refers to deeds that result from an in-depth spirituality. Martin Luther and John Wesley, two pioneering leaders of the Protestant traditions, consider hospitality as a sacrament embodying the mystery of "Emmanuel" and the incarnation of Jesus Christ. More importantly, there is a strong biblical foundation for hospitality. Romans 12: 13 says of the practice of hospitality. Here, the word "hospitality" can be interpreted as "opening the door of the home." In Mark 9: 37, Jesus makes it clear that "whoever welcomes one of these little children in my name welcomes me; and whoever welcomes me welcomes the one who sent me." We are instructed in Hebrews 13: 2, "Do not forget to entertain strangers, for by so doing some people have entertained angels without knowing it." Further in Matthew 25: 35, 40, Jesus says, "I was a stranger and you invited me in . . . I tell you the truth, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers of mine, you did for me."

From the above spiritual interpretation of hospitality, such practice is closely connected to Integral mission. Throughout history, Integral mission that has been carried out by churches includes the response to God's presence in the "least of these" by serving cordially the poor, the needy, and the oppressed. By doing so, the churches participate in the presence of God and His acts of redemption. The Integral mission is participating in the presence of God and His acts of redemption by following God's footprints in showing compassion for and helping our neighbors in need, all for the healing of the souls and bodies of the sick and for the freedom from the grip of evil and darkness. Integral mission directs God's followers to reach out to their neighbors with hospitality and to humbly be the least of the least.

To practice hospitality towards strangers who are the least of men and women is an important part of the Integral mission. To practice hospitality is to open the door of the church and be ready to receive humble strangers, to welcome them into the family of God, to care for their needs and share in their pains and sorrows. "The least of those brothers of mine" can be seen at every corner of a society. They are the strangers in need. So, how should the church carry out its mission by practicing hospitality for these strangers, the "least of these"?

Centrifugal Mission and Centripetal Mission

Throughout history, Christian mission has been seen as "centrifugal mission" — from the center of commissioning to the end of the world, to a new territory: To the whole world until the end of time on earth. Mission, then, means "going out" — to evangelize in different places of the world. However, mission has yet another important direction: The practice of "centripetal mission." In the Old Testament, the major mission of the Israelites as God's people of mission and "a light for the nations" is to call people to "come" and become God's people. In the New Testament, Jesus called his disciples to become "the salt of the earth," "the light of the world," and "a city set on a hill." These dramatic images describe clearly that Christian witnesses must effectively draw people to God. This is to say that individuals and churches engaging in evangelism must be "truthful" witnesses before God in order to attract strangers to church. People who share the Gospel must practice hospitality toward the poor, the needy, and the oppressed, for the healing of the souls and bodies of the sick and for the freedom from the grip of evil and darkness.

Today, centripetal mission must not be taken lightly by "Countries of Foreign Mission" with a long tradition of Christian mission. Once in some of these countries that were engaged in a centrifugal mission, majority of their citizens were Christians. These countries include Germany, Britain, and the United States. Their cross-cultural missions were at one time thriving and they became the centers of foreign missions commissioning tens of thousands of missionaries to Africa and Asia for those who had never heard about Jesus. Have Hong Kong churches not been benefited from the mission ministry of these countries? Have Baptist churches in Hong Kong not received such grace from the mission works of the Baptist churches of America? Has not HKBTS especially been a beneficiary of the mission efforts of the Baptists in America?

However, these Christian countries now have become secularized with pluralistic cultural ideologies and declining Christians. In Britain, youngsters show greater interest in folk religions than Christianity. Certain divinity schools in esteemed universities in the United Kingdom have difficulty recruiting students. The United States are in a similar situation. Over the past several decades, denominations like the Episcopalians and the Presbyterians have faced the predicament of decreasing church membership. In the last ten years, the declining rate of church membership in Southern Baptists has been on the increase. It is not uncommon to see church attendance in tens in large church buildings owned by these Baptist churches: The elderly are dying of old age; the young are reluctant to join.

Sharing the Gospel in "New" Places of Mission

On the other hand, immigrants who practice different religious faiths and who come from various racial and ethnic backgrounds have populated towns and cities of these Christian countries. To these countries, "to make disciples of all nations?" may take on a new meaning now. Who is "all nations"? Does the term "all nations" refer to those people who have not yet heard the gospel of Christ? Do these people include Muslims and Hindus? How do Christians lead them to become disciples of the Lord Jesus? In the present time, can we say that these Christian countries have actually become "new" places for mission?

Applying similar approach for Hong Kong, would Hong Kong be a place for mission? Aren't there many people in Hong Kong who have not turned to Jesus Christ? Isn't it true that the Christian population has not increased much in recent years? Aren't our fellow Chinese from Mainland China who have made Hong Kong their home people we are to reach for Christ? Our society has become increasingly pluralistic as different racial groups come to live here and bring with them their own religious faiths. In this context, the term "all nations" as in "to make disciples of all nations" should include not only those outside of Hong Kong who have not been reached, but also the various ethnic groups in the Hong Kong community who have not heard the Gospel of Jesus Christ.

Therefore, the centripetal mission should become a new direction for contemporary mission. Mission should no longer be only centrifugal but must also be centripetal. Churches, apart from going to places where the Christian gospel has not been heard, should also stay where they are, the old mission field, to "renew" the mission.

The Church Testimonies Speak of Her Life of Hospitality

Church testimonies of life in Christ play a very important part in carrying out centripetal mission. Christian mission does not confine itself to cross-cultural mission. It must also embrace churches' testimonies of life in Christ to their homeland communities. We not only tell of the Gospel but we also enable others to open their eyes and behold the Truth. Witnessing is opening up Christ's churches and our lives in our invitation for others to "come and see." Such testimonies of life in Christ can fully be revealed through the church's practice of hospitality.

Citing America as an example of the Center of Mission, America stands for the window to the world and is the center of attraction for the world. America is conceived in the practice of Christian hospitality and has earned the name "the land of freedom." For a fact, many people have immigrated to America from over the world for various reasons. Some left their homes due to financial needs; some were uprooted because of political persecution. Numerous people re-built their homes in this new land; they found jobs, spiritual homes in churches, and made new friends, all because of the hospitality extended to them in the Center of Mission.

Unfortunately, the American hospitality can be selective. When we look back to its not too distant past, at the time when the American churches were zealous for overseas mission, the White were engaged in slave trade and people turned a blind eye to racism. Even now in the U.S.A., we can find a lot of people who are homeless, sleeping in the streets of metropolitan cities, and suffering from hunger and cold. Churches too often show little concern towards the socially disadvantaged. When our churches fail to practice hospitality in their own society, it is not difficult to imagine that their testimonies for Christ become unconvincing and their witness could seem impotent. The effectiveness of their efforts to stride across cultural boundary to share the gospel in a strange land will not be good.

The practice of hospitality as testimonies for life in Christ is the approach emphasized by Centripetal Mission with the purpose of enabling people to see Jesus Christ. However, this testimonial approach for Mission is a risk-taking form of evangelism. When we invite strangers to come see Jesus Christ, we are also inviting them to witness our lives in Christ. Would we feel secure enough to extend the invitation to strangers outside the church to come visit us in our home? Can we honestly ask them to see who we are, what our churches and society are really like? What kind of witnesses are we? Are we truly joyous in our faith in Jesus Christ? Can our churches demonstrate themselves to be the people of God, a manifestation of His kingdom? Do our churches live the lives that practice hospitality to their fullest? Or, do too many of our churches play politics like our society that brings about power struggles and conflicts? Worse still, will our church politics be more unjust than the secular world's? Mission must confront these questions that present as the basic challenges.

Hospitality Is the Practice of Integral Mission

All the questions asked prompt us to reflect on the truthfulness of our testimonies. The depth of Mission consists not in the founding of "Mission Entrepreneurship," but in the living testimonies of the churches and individual Christians. A truthful witness does not boast of the wealth or political influence of the church in the society. A truthful witness points out the madness in a society and her greed for wealth, power, and pleasure. A truthful witness provides an alternative way of living to a chaotic, troubled, lonely and miserable society by singing the song of Zion and sharing the strength and joy of the Gospel by receiving with open arms the poor, the needy, and the oppressed. Only when the churches do the right thing will we carry out true Mission works by practicing hospitality. Mission churches that practice hospitality will also have their voice for the "powerless" heard, reminding the "powerful" to care for the "least" of the citizens. She will strive to uphold justice in a pluralistic society, to maintain equality in partnership relationships, and to establish a harmonious community while serving to conserve and protect our ecological environment.

To carry out all of these right things is to fulfill the Great Commission that is given to us by Jesus Christ. On one hand, we obey Christ's Great Commission by "going" — off to different places, to every corner and cross the borders of the world for sharing the Gospel, or we stride across social strata, cultural or ethnic and political boundaries to lead strangers of various backgrounds to become the disciples of Jesus Christ. On the other hand, we as the churches must become witnesses for Christ Jesus who are transformed in our lives and practice hospitality toward our neighbors especially those who are weak and powerless. Thus, the churches in Hong Kong should seek ways to show kindness to the new immigrants in our midst, for the poor, the needy and the oppressed. As we churches are committed to practice hospitality in carrying out Mission, we are fulfilling the Integral mission.

Aug 2012

Related Posts

Delight in the Torah

From September 12th to 16th this year, I taught a doctoral class in theology at Nanjing Jinling Union Theological Seminary. In the seminar on Christian ethics, I led the students to study various major works on ethics, including philosophical ethics, Le Man (Paul. . .

殷切款待——踐行宣教的整全使命

殷切款待——踐行宣教的整全使命

殷切款待微小的陌生人

  在新約中,殷切款待是基督徒的標記。殷切款待不僅是禮貌和文明的行為,也是具有深度的靈性。教會的先賢馬丁路德、約翰衞斯理看殷切款待為聖禮,是耶穌基督的道成肉身、「以馬內利」的奧祕。更重要的,是聖經有不少關於殷切款待的教導。羅馬書十二章13節說:「客要一味地款待。」這裡「款待」可以翻譯為「打開你的家門」。馬可福音九章37節也記下耶穌的教導:「凡為我名接待一個像這小孩子的,就是接待我;凡接待我的,不是接待我,乃是接待那差我來的。」希伯來書十三章2節亦說:「不可忘記用愛心接待客旅;因為曾有接待客旅的,不知不覺就接待了天使。」還有馬太福音二十五章35、40節:「我作客旅,你們留我住……我實在告訴你們,這些事你們既做在我這弟兄中一個最小的身上,就是做在我身上了。」

  從上述的角度去理解,殷切款待的實踐是與宣教的整全使命息息相關的。歷代以來,教會所要踐行的宣教的整全使命,包括了回應神在那些「最小」的人身上的臨在,也就是殷切款待那些貧窮、有需要、被壓制的人,參與神的臨在和救贖行動。宣教的整全使命就是參與神的臨在和救贖,那就是跟隨神的腳蹤去關愛、幫助世界上有需要的鄰舍,叫他們的心靈和身體的病患得醫治,可以脫離罪惡和黑暗的權勢。這樣的宣教使命叫神的跟從者殷切款待鄰舍,謙卑地在微小人中作微小人。

  因此,殷切款待那些微小的陌生人,是宣教的整全使命一個重要部分。殷切款待是打開教會的門去接待微小的陌生人,歡迎他們進入神的家,關懷他們的需要和分擔他們的痛苦。這些「最小的一個」見於社會每個角落,是一群有需要的陌生人。那麼,教會應如何向這些「最小」的陌生人「殷切款待」地宣教?

離心的宣教與向心的宣教

  一直以來,基督教的宣教被看為「離心的宣教」──以差遣地為中心去到世界的邊緣,去到新的地域:到整個世界,到世界的末了。宣教就是「出去」──去到世界不同的地方傳福音。然而,宣教也有另一層面:「向心的宣教」。在舊約,以色列人是神的宣教子民、列國的光,他們主要的宣教使命是叫人「來」成為神的子民。在新約,耶穌呼喚門徒要成為地上的鹽、世上的光、山上的城市。這些圖像強調基督徒的見證能吸引人歸向神。這就是說:傳福音的人和教會,必須在神面前有「真實」的見證,方能招聚與吸引陌生人來教會。傳福音的人要殷切款待社會中那些貧窮、有需要、被壓制的人,叫他們的心靈和身體病患得醫治,脫離罪惡和黑暗的權勢。

  在今天,向心的宣教對那些有宣教傳統的「差傳國家」而言,是不可忽略的。曾幾何時,在一些著重離心宣教的差傳國家裡,基督徒人口是公民的大比數,例如德國、英國和美國等。他們的跨文化宣教工作非常興旺,成為主要的差傳中心,曾派遣千千萬萬的宣教士到非洲、亞洲,傳福音給當地的未得之民。香港的教會不也是受惠於這些國家的宣教工作嗎?香港的眾浸信教會不也是受惠於美國的浸信會的宣教工作嗎?香港浸信會神學院不也是受惠於美國的浸信會的宣教工作嗎?

  可是,現今這些基督教國家已日趨世俗化,文化思潮變得愈來愈多元,基督徒的人數也愈來愈少。在英國,年青人對基督教不感興趣,卻對一些民間宗教的鬼神趨之若鶩。英國一些著名大學的神學院也面對收生的困難。美國的情況同樣叫人憂慮,在過往幾十年,數大宗派如聖公會、長老會的教會,都面對人數下滑的困局。最近十年,美南浸信會人數下滑的速度也加快了。一些大型浸信教會擁有偌大的建築物和土地,可是崇拜人數只剩下幾十人,年長的老死,年青的卻不願進來。

在「新」的宣教地方傳揚福音

  另一方面,一些有不同宗教信仰、來自異國異族的人民,已遷移至這些基督教國家的城鎮之中。對於這些國家而言,「使萬民作門徒」如今是甚麼意思呢?「萬民」是誰?「萬民」是否那些未聽聞福音的異族人民?是否當中的伊斯蘭教徒、印度教徒?基督徒如何帶領他們成為主耶穌的門徒呢?今時今日,這些基督教國家是否也成為了一個「新」的宣教地方?

  用相近的思路去想想,香港會否也是一個宣教的地方?香港不是還有很多人未歸信耶穌嗎?基督徒的人數不是沒多大增長嗎?中國各城各鄉的同胞來到香港生活,不也是未得之民嗎?我們的社會也變得愈來愈多元化,有不同民族的人民帶著他們的宗教信仰來到香港。那麼,「使萬民作門徒」的「萬民」不僅是香港以外的未得之民,也是香港社會中那些未聽聞福音的各族人民。

  因此,向心的宣教也是當代宣教應留心的一個方向。宣教不僅是離心的宣教,也同時是向心的宣教。教會除了前去未聽聞福音的地方,也可以留守舊日的宣教地方,在這裡「重新」宣教。

教會的生命見證見於殷切款待的生命

  要向心宣教,教會的生命見證是非常重要的。宣教使命不僅是跨文化的宣教,也是教會在本國、本土的社群中的生活見證。傳福音的使命必須透過見證而達成。我們不僅要宣講福音,也要讓人看見福音。見證就是敞開教會和自己的生命,叫人「來看」,而教會的生命見證可見於教會殷切款待的生命。

  以美國為例,這個近代宣教的差傳中心是世界的窗戶,是一個吸引世界的中心。基督教那種殷切款待的精神孕育了美國,叫這片疆土被視為「自由的土地」。事實上,不少異族異國的人民因著不同的原因,紛紛遷到美國。有些基於經濟需要,有些因著政治迫害,不惜拔根遷徙。無數人得以在新地土重建家園,能夠覓得工作、加入教會、結交朋友,是因為他們經歷了美國的殷切款待,受到這個宣教的差遣中心的款待。

  然而,有時候美國的款待也是有選擇性的。回望當年,在美國教會努力向海外傳福音的同時,美國的白種人社會仍在販賣黑奴,縱容種族主義。美國各大城市的街頭,當今亦有不少人無家可歸、露宿街頭、受飢寒之苦。許多時候,教會對這些弱勢人士的關心是微弱的。不難想像,當教會未能在自己的社會履行殷切款待之道,她的見證會變得軟弱無力,遑論跨過文化的邊界,跑到別處陌生的土地去宣揚福音。

  殷切款待的生命見證,是向心宣教所強調的方式,也就是叫人來看見耶穌基督。然而,這種生命見證的宣教,也是一種有冒險性的傳福音方式。因為在我們邀請陌生人來看耶穌基督的同時,也是邀請人家來看我們自己的生命。我們能否安心地發出邀請,叫教會門外的陌生人來住在我們的家、來看我們?我們能否邀請他們來看我們生命的本相、我們教會的本相、我們社會的本相?我們的見證是怎樣的見證?我們信耶穌基督是否信得喜樂?教會能否表現出教會是神的子民,是神國度的彰顯?我們的教會是否充滿著殷切款待的生命?抑或教會跟社會的政治一樣,有很多矛盾,有很多手段和角力?甚至教會的政治比社會的政治更不公義?這些問題是宣教所要迎對的基本挑戰。

殷切款待是宣教的整全使命的踐行

  這些問題促使我們反省見證的真實性。宣教的深度不在於「差傳事業」的建立,而在於教會和信徒生命的見證。真實的見證不是大吹大擂地炫耀教會如何富裕,不是誇耀教會在社會所掌握的政治權勢。真實的見證是指出社會所患上的精神分裂病乃在於其對財富、權力、歡愉的貪戀和擁抱。真實的見證是在一個混亂、困擾、孤獨、憂傷的社會中,提供有別於精神分裂的生活的另一選擇,向眾多的陌生人唱出錫安的詩歌,去殷切款待那些貧窮、有需要、被壓制的人,見證福音的生命力和喜樂。當教會這樣做,她不僅不會重複社會的精神分裂,她更是「殷切款待」地宣教,真實地去見證。此外,殷切款待的宣教教會也會著力發聲,提醒那些「強大」的掌權者要愛護「微小」的人民;挑戰人要在多元文化的社會中秉行公義,建設平等的伙伴關係,建立和諧的群體,並要保護生態環境。

  這一切都是大使命的具體展現,它們正是耶穌基督所吩咐的大使命。一方面,我們要遵從基督的大使命,要「去」——去「跨越」到不同的地方,去到世界的每一角落、每一邊界,傳福音給當地的未得之民;去跨越社會、文化、種族、地域、政治的邊界,引領不同的陌生人作耶穌基督的門徒。另一方面,教會同時要作美好的見證,有生命的轉化,能殷切款待鄰舍,尤其是那些微小的人。這樣,香港的眾教會也該殷切款待我們當中的新移民,殷切款待貧窮的人,殷切款待有需要的人,殷切款待被欺壓的人,以生命見證基督的福音,把福音傳出去。這就是殷切款待的宣教。殷切款待是宣教的整全使命的踐行。

2012年7月

相關文章

朝宣講的方向再邁進

朝宣講的方向再邁進 從2009年我出任院長,不知不覺,至今剛好整整十個年頭。回望這十載歲月,神常常以精巧微妙的...

喜愛妥拉

今年9月12至16日,我在南京金陵協和神學院教授神學博士班,在基督教倫理學的研討會上,我帶領學生研讀各種倫理學的主要著述,包括哲學倫理、李曼(Paul...

悲傷的季節

悲傷的季節 污水泵房問題再次浮現   去年新學期開始,心裏有預感,2018-19學年將會是不容易的一年。...